The Golden Square Mile – An unique experience with the podcast "A Gem to Explore"

In collaboration with Montréal centre-ville

Photo credit: Matthieu Dupuis

Discover

About Us

In the heart of Montreal, discover a neighborhood with a plush heritage and rich history expressed through the facades of its bourgeois heritage residences : the Golden Square Mile. Marked off by des Pins Avenue, at the foot of Mount Royal, Guy Street, to the West, René-Lévesque Boulevard, to the South, Robert-Bourassa Street (formerly University), to the East, the Golden Square Mile is definitely an area of its own to discover in the middle of downtown.

Its typical Victorian houses and commercial buildings from the 1850’s, when it became an important business center, illustrate its vocation as a peaceful XVIIIth century residential district, with easy access to Montreal’s port and city center. At the beginning of the XXth century, 80 % of Canada’s wealth would have been concentrated in the Golden Square Mile.

Today, the neighbourhood is still shining in the heart of Montreal and counts on this elegant architecture from the end of the XIXth century and its numerous historical, cultural and touristic lures to seduce the locals as well as visitors from everywhere. Let’s go and discover it!

Pin It on Pinterest

Partez à la découverte du quartier du Mille carré doré avec la balado « Mille carré doré, une richesse à explorer »

En collaboration avec Montréal centre-ville

Crédit photo : Matthieu Dupuis

Découvrir

Découvrez dans le cœur de Montréal un quartier dont l’héritage cossu et le riche passé s’exprime dans les façades des demeures bourgeoises patrimoniales : le Mille carré doré ou Golden Square Mile. Délimité par l’avenue des Pins, au pied du mont Royal, la rue Guy, à l’ouest, le boulevard René-Lévesque, au sud, et la rue Robert-Bourassa (anciennement University), à l’est, le Mille carré doré est un secteur à découvrir en plein centre-ville.

Ses maisons victoriennes typiques et ses édifices commerciaux des années 1850, quand il est devenu un important centre d’affaires, illustrent sa vocation de paisible secteur résidentiel du XVIIIe siècle, avec un accès facile au port, puis au centre-ville montréalais. Au début du XXe siècle, 80 % de la richesse du Canada aurait été concentrée dans le Mille Carré Doré.

Aujourd’hui, le quartier brille toujours au cœur de Montréal et compte sur cette élégante architecture de la fin du XIXe siècle et ses nombreux attraits historiques, culturels et touristiques pour séduire les locaux comme les gens de passage. Partons à sa découverte !

Pin It on Pinterest